A recipe to get you through a black-banana day!

My boyfriend ran a marathon recently with his old buddy Francois, so two days before the race, I filled the fruit bowl with all the fruit that a runner could possibly wish for: bananas, bananas and bananas.

I don’t know what I was thinking but obviously no human being can eat that many bananas in just a couple of days.  I’m not sure I know how anybody can run 42 km either but that’s another matter!  What to do with what’s left of those bananas became the pertinent question.  Those left over bananas were sure bothering me.  As was the thought of those little fruit flies that threatened to appear one imminent black-banana’d day.

‘If you could choose between banana pancakes, a banana split or banana bread, what would you choose?’ I asked my boyfriend.

‘Banana bread,’ he said, ‘if there’s enough butter.’

There wasn’t enough butter so I added some olive oil to the concoction.  I should have said mixture there but then I think I’m developing a thing about over-ripe bananas, especially squashing them into a perfectly happy sweet-smelling banana-less batter! 

But now the deed is done and the timer has rung…

Here’s a simple banana bread recipe adapted from Eric Lanlard’s recipe from Home Bake (that includes 75 g walnuts in the batter mixed in at the end and 50 g banana chips to decorate the top before baking):

Preheat your oven to 180 degrees C, butter a loaf tin and then gather 125 grams of butter (soft – I used 90 grams of butter and made up the difference with olive oil), 170 grams sugar, 2 eggs (at room temperature), 300 grams sifted flour (plain), 1 level teaspoon of bicarbonate of soda (sifted), 150 ml milk, 5 ml vanilla extract, 1 teaspoon poppy seeds, 3 extremely ripe bananas (mashed) and a dash of cinnamon to taste.

Then whisk the butter and sugar together until they’re creamed and smooth.  Add an egg and beat, add the other egg and then beat again.  Stir in 1/3 of the flour with the bicarb, some milk and repeat until the flour and milk are well mixed in. 

Lastly, stir in the bananas, vanilla extract, poppy seeds and cinnamon.  Pour the batter into your greased tin and bake for an hour to an hour and ten minutes or until a skewer comes out clean.

Eat your warm banana bread as a midnight snack or toast a slice in the morning, spread it with butter and serve with sliced normal banana.

I’ll be serving mine with tea.

PS. You can see more of Eric’s wonderful recipes here.

