Is that a vegetable garden in your glass?

Here’s what I have for breakfast every morning: a smoothie.  Not any kind of smoothie, this is something like a vegetable garden in a glass ie. it has everything in it.  Sounds scary.

It is, especially if you read all the ingredients!  But not if you taste it (surprisingly enough).

Recipe for Hectic Smoothie:

  • a blob of yoghurt
  • a scattering of oats
  • a banana
  • an apple
  • pineapple
  • strawberries
  • a lemon
  • or whatever other fruit I want instead
  • wheatgerm
  • a handful of sprouts (weirdly enough, the taste doesn’t come through)
  • a few spinach leaves (ditto, since it isn’t juiced but cut up into tiny un-noticeable pieces)
  • a teeny glug of olive oil
  • a teeny glug of 3-6-9 omega oils
  • a teeny glug of avocado oil
  • a splattering of sunflower seeds
  • a splattering of linseeds
  • a sprinkling of cinnamin and nutmeg
  • a dash of tumeric

I then blend all of this up with my hand blender.  It sounds horrible but thanks to the pineapple that cuts across everything, it has a fresh, zingy taste.  Once I’ve had this smoothie, I feel good.  Ready for the day.  Able to go to gym.  Happy to eat what I like from there.  Macaroons for instance.

2 thoughts on “Is that a vegetable garden in your glass?

  1. It sounds very healthy, but I think I might go for the macaroons rather. Just think of all the kilojoules I am saving by NOT having the smoothie as well …

Leave a Reply

