By the way, I don’t think anyone’s going to eat that frisbee!

Alternative baking ingredients are pricey.  Especially when one gets a bee in one’s bonnet about stocking up on every unknowable baking ingredient that ever existed.  Things like xantham gum, arrow root, agave nectar, quinoa flour, chickpea flour, potato flour, spelt flour, arrow root, grapeseed oil, coconut oil… Baobab fruit powder (wonder what it tastes like, wonder what I’m going to do with it?!). 

I had plenty of help from Allan and Elizabeth at Health for Life down the road at Gardens Centre, Cape Town and I think we’ll be seeing a lot more of each other.  I’ve promised Elizabeth I’d let her know what I do with the Baobab fruit powder and soon I’m going to be asking Allan endless questions like ‘do you think you’ll be able to access coconut flour?’.

Aside from baking, I also got (just about) fully stocked on the anti-angiogenesis ingredients I mentioned in my last post.  My fridge has never been this colourful.  Neither have my breakfasts.  I’m making smoothies every morning that are so full of goodness that I feel quite able to take on a personal trainer so all in all, it’s looking good.

HOWEVER, I can’t say the same for my first experimental piece that’s just come out of the oven. What was supposed to be a substitute sweet pastry base (using spelt flour, oats, wheat germ, grapeseed oil, honey etc instead of eggs, flour, sugar, butter) has turned out to look like an alien’s edible biscuit-bread frisbee.

4 thoughts on “By the way, I don’t think anyone’s going to eat that frisbee!

  1. Oh dear! I can’t offer any helpful tips, have never had success with ‘healthy’ pastry and really hope that your experiments bear fruit. The baobab tree is the Cream of Tartar tree… so my guess is that the powder that you found is none other than this humble baking ingredient which my mom used to use in biscuits.

    1. Jenny, I tried some other ‘healthy baking’ on the weekend and realized that something was SERIOUSLY missing: the SMELL of butter, sugar, eggs and flour! The cupcakes I made (with all sorts of alternative ingredients, no eggs, butter etc) were horrible things, worse than the frisbee mentioned in this post. I’m going to carry on adding healthy foods to my diet because it feels great but as for baking, I think I’m going to follow my nose. Thanks so much for the cream of tartar tip. I’m off to research more about that now 🙂 !!!

    1. Hahaaaaaa, what a wonderful idea, edible frisbees for dogs. Wish I’d thought of Snous before I flipped said frisbee into the bin!

Leave a Reply

