Cauliflower Soup by Starwalker

This post is especially for Anairam who likes soups and dogs (not real ones in soup of course)

I’m not so sure I’m into Cauliflower Soup but Starwalker’s take puts it into a whole different broth-game!  Thanks for another fun piece, SK:     

For those of you who don’t already know this (and I’m sure there are several), cauliflower is not – like Latin – a dead language. There is stuff you can do with that sheepish little vegetable that skulks around supermarket fridges like packets of miniature Maltese poodles.  
For many years in my life cauliflower was almost exclusively a type of texture that sat under cheese sauce on the edge of the Sunday Chicken Roast. It wasn’t exactly repulsive. It wasn’t, like broccoli or sprouts, a reason in itself to have a screaming, sulking fit that ended in you sitting at the table until the early hours of the morning.  
It was just stuff really. When I saw it in the Supermarket it reminded me of Sunday lunch. Sometimes, as a young man, I would just buy it anyway, keep it around in the fridge for a while and then throw it away when it went the wrong colour. Also there was the issue of the cheese sauce, the roux, which was a tough ask for me at the time.
So, speedy conzales, extra easy, off the shelf, sexy cauliflower puree:     

  • Steam a bunch of cauliflower in a pot of salted water (just a couple of finger widths of water)
  • Drain and toss into the blender. Add a couple of spoons of butter and a tin of cream (I know it’s never healthy with me)
  • Add a pinch of salt and half a tsp of hot paprika. I have a beautiful Spanish one named La Chinata, if you ever come across it
  • Liquidise
  • Pour into a bowl and dress with a thin streak of hot red paprika.

Delicious (and enough to make a girl think that you are both original and culinarily well endowed).  You need to throw this sort of meal out with a sentence that might start something like this:  What these old pieces of cauliflower? You’re hungry? Well, I’m sure I can think of something…

12 thoughts on “Cauliflower Soup by Starwalker

  1. Dearest Anairam, that recipe did a disappearing act just when I thought nobody was looking… which just goes to show! Lots of love WIU

  2. A soupy post specially for me!!! I am wowed. I am humbled. I am hungry ….
    (Seriously, I laughed and laughed when I read the description of cauliflowers – miniature maltese poodles. Hahaha!!! Then I apologised to Snous, who is a Maltese Cross. I will make this soup, but only when she is out for a walk or something.)

    1. Dogs don’t like to be laughed at, poor Snous! We’ll get back to you with Another Less Maltese Poodly soup as soon as possible…signed, WIU & SW.

    1. Poodles snipped. Glad you like the new layout. Do you miss the photo on the homepage though? x

  3. Can’t wait to try this. I know that cauliflower is really good for you (Vitamin C, folate, potassium, cancer fighting) but I rarely buy it. Amazed that you don’t need any stock.

  4. Dear Madam Whipping

    What’s with the posts? Where are the recipes? Lying low, are you? I am missing you and need some kitchen inspiration.

    Yours truly
    (and in admiration)
    Anairam

Leave a Reply

