French Onion Soup

 *Picture censored, sorry!*

That flu bug came knocking at my door again today.  What to do but to dress up like a mummy, overdose on Vitamin C and make a hearty soup for dinner?  

Since my friend Jess has been raving about her French Onion soup, I thought it was high time I give it a bash.  The result: a comforting, delicious and very filling dinner.  Which reminds me of Jess’ parting words, ‘be careful not to serve too much as a starter because your guests won’t beable to fit in their main course!’  

I made this dish tonight as a main course.  Fabulous!  Especially since I could do a million other things while attending to the slow frying of the onions:  I cleaned the house (at last, hoorah hoorah!), attended to my emails, caught up on phone calls etc etc while stirring the onions in the pot (every so often). 

By the time my guest arrived for dinner, all I had to do was pour some wine (including another helping for the soup), toast the bread with grated blue cheese and serve.  Wallah.

‘I could smell your cooking all the way down the stairs,’ said le guest as he walked through the front door.  ‘It smells absolutely delicious!’  

Here’s the simple low stress, high impact recipe:

  • Slice and slowly fry 8 onions in generous amounts of butter until caramelised

  • Fry/grill slices of ciabatta or baguette

  • Add 1-2 cups of white wine

  • Add 1 litre/4 cups of vegetable stock (or chicken stock)

  • Add salt and pepper to taste

  • Cook for a few minutes while lightly grilling some blue cheese/gruyere cheese on top of the bread 

  • Dish up the soup into bowls and place the toasted bread on top (allow 1-2 slices per person)


After two helpings, my guest said he couldn’t possibly fit in dessert tonight, thank you… but that he’d definitely like to have French Onion soup for dinner again sometime.

2 thoughts on “French Onion Soup

    1. Hi Marisa!

      Thanks for popping in :)… WELL,I had this soup for lunch today and Ooooooohhhhhh, yes, there is something about it. It’s comforting and rich yet it’s clean tasting… and that hint of wine does it.

      x!

Comments are closed.