Nestle Condensed Milk Vanilla Fudge (with Chocolate Fudge Heart)

DK and I took a long slow walk down to the local village this afternoon to buy the ingredients for fudge.  We got back and I realized I didn’t have my special fudge recipe (from my Mom!) so I bopped off to the Nestle web site at http://www.carnation.co.uk/pudcasts/ultimate-fudge and wallah, there was a recipe very similar to the one we grew up with: 

Ingredients

500 ml (2 cups) sugar
75 ml (5 Tbsp) water
30 ml (2 Tbsp) golden syrup
60 g (4 Tbsp) butter
1 cans (385 g) NESTLÉ Condensed Milk
5 ml (1 tsp) vanilla essence

Instructions

Place sugar and water into a heavy saucepan. Stir over a low heat until the sugar has dissolved.
Add syrup and butter, stir till butter has melted.
Add the Condensed Milk and stir until mixture comes to the boil.
Boil slowly, stirring all the time, until the soft ball stage is reached ± 25 minutes. (Place a drop of the mixture into a glass of water and it should form a soft ball when rolled between your fingers).

Then

Remove from the heat, add vanilla and beat mixture with a wooden spoon until it begins to thicken. Pour into a greased 18 x 28 cm pan and leave to cool.
Cut into squares when almost cold.

I ended up making a huge mess in DK’s kitchen, when I decided to experiment with all kinds of different flavours.  The vanilla pod version was my favourite  though – I let the pod boil away and the flavour quickly seeped into the gooey delight. 

As for infusing the fudge with a red chilli, I don’t think one was enough (sans pips) to give enough bite. Rum worked a treat but sherry didn’t taste too great.  Mixing in cocoa powder worked wonders.

I used the cocoa fudge to make a chocolate fudge heart which I layered on top of a coffee flavoured heart.  This tiny little detail was the highlight of the ‘ dish’ in the end… a multi-leveled heart centrepiece on what was left of the vanilla fudge.  Besides looking cute, it was delish!

10 thoughts on “Nestle Condensed Milk Vanilla Fudge (with Chocolate Fudge Heart)

  1. I have sold kilos and kilos of fudge. Loved what you were doing experimenting. I also do that and the flavors that I found sold the fastest were rum, chilli, crystalised ginger (Ooooooh delightful), salted, and walnut. Now you have me salivating..and BTW I have no voice….AGAIN!! Hugs xx

  2. Wow, Col, I had no idea, that’s so interesting… where did you sell your fudge and what made you start making/selling fudge? I must say the rum was DK’s favourite. I’ll try the chilli again sometime – might need to touch base with you on that one! Also like the idea of the walnut hmmmmmmm… on that note, I think I’m going to go and have another piece for breakfast… 🙂

    But now, please take care of yourself BG, it sounds like you’ve had lots on your plate lately. Sending you lots of love and hope you get better SOON. x!!

      1. Hi there! It shouldn’t be too soft…try beating it up vigourously with a wooden spoon for a few minutes once you’ve cooked it (or after you’ve poured it into a bowl while it’s still boiling hot)… it should start thickening up before your eyes! You can then even it out with a spatula in the bowl. Hope this helps 🙂

  3. I started selling cakes and bottled goods out of necessity when D was unemployed for almost 10 years. Mostly sold from home and did a few Christmas markets over the years…the fudge was a small but delicious part. Try the rum and walnut together, its delightful. My biggest seller over the years has been Christmas cakes….last year I only made 35 because of D’s accident but I have been known to make up to 250! Hot and tiring work….Im getting too old for it now hehe. Thanx girl. I am struggling with this laryngitis and flu. No voice again…Hugs xx

  4. Wow, Colleen, I’d love to hear the whole story from you sometime. I had no idea you were so seriously into it and I’m wondering what inspired you to decide to start baking and selling from home… and if you’re still selling your treats out there? Maybe I’m going to have to come over and interview you! Great to hear you’re going away up coast now… just stay warm lovely Brownie Girl x

  5. I came across your website purely by accident, as I need to make fudge for my daughters’ cake sale tomorrow! First try, very ambitious I know.

    Will let you know how the recipe went, wish me luck. i have no golden syrup, but will have to soldier on as we live in Congo, and Sunday is a day of Sabbath practiced here without fail, lol.

    Regards,
    Fatima Massicard

    1. Hello Fatima, so glad you fell down the rabbit hole, thanks for your message and hope it all went well! There are so many little things that one needs to know to make a PERFECT batch but reading them all will only have one giving up… Even if you don’t get a perfectly smooth consistency, you tried and the kids will appreciate it anyway. Look forward to hearing 🙂

  6. I never realised chilli tasted good in/with chocolate or fudge for that matter until i tried it in a Lindt chilli chocolate bar. Still think vanilla fudge is my fav.
    250 Christmas cakes… crazy!

Leave a Reply

