From rugby balls to bread with James (aged 5)…

It was my Mom's worst nightmare that her grandson would grow up with rugby balls, and worse still, that James would end up liking them...
Of course, there was no escaping it since James was born to a rugby player whose father was a rugby player etc etc!...
I was reminded of this while looking through some photos I took of James at his first bread lesson (is it a baguette or is it a rugby ball?!)...

At such a young age he didn't waver from the task at hand...
Or miss a detail or lose his sense of enthusiasm or personal responsibility ('we must check the bread... is it ready yet?' he'd say every few minutes before heading off to the oven to see if the bread was 'golden brown' yet)...
His sense of bravery had me smiling - no, I wasn't to take the bread out of the oven, he could definately do it himself! ...
He delighted at sharing with everyone...

Including his four-legged ball-crazy fans...
All the qualities of a sportsman, and I can't help but think of my Mom cheering James on, whatever the case, rugby balls or not... x!

4 thoughts on “From rugby balls to bread with James (aged 5)…

  1. How ironic to be reading this today, as it was JUST this morning James and I were on Camps Bay beach throwing a rugby ball between us with me having to remind him “YOU HAVE TO THROW THE BALL BACKWARDS!” … even saying it, sounds like the strangest concept. After a short stint of tending to Chiara (my daughter), he asked me if we could go “wrestle” again. What he meant was … “COME TACKLE ME!” You’re right Whipping It Up, he has all the qualities of a sportsman, or anything else that he chooses to do. Focus, Determination and the DESIRE to excel. … xxx

  2. Kittispike, he also hasn’t forgotten how to make bread – he brought up the subject on Sunday when I mentioned teaching him and O how to make Milk Tart. ‘Can I make the dough, can I make the dough?!’ he asked. Ánd then he recalled how you have to ‘throw the dough’ etc… x!

  3. I was thinking that if Papaah was cooking at the age of six then James isn’t doing too badly!

Leave a Reply

