A peek into the 2010 Eat Out Magazine (& a thumbs up for Cape Town)

The 2010 Eat Out Restaurant Guide

 

We received a copy of the 2010 Eat Out magazine at the South African Food Blogger’s Conference.  What a beaut!  It lists the best 1001 restaurants in South Africa as well as the top ten restaurants, chef of the year and restaurant of the year ie. La Colombe (oooooooooh, the place where my heart once skipped a beat!). 
 
Eat Out also lists ten of the best:

  • Sommeliers
  • Cheese platters
  • Value-for-money meals
  • Bathrooms
  • Views
  • Private dining rooms
  • Coffees
  • Alfresco eateries
  • Hotel restaurants
  • Cellars & winelists
  • Tasting menus
  • Restaurants that buzz

And ten of the best for:  

  • Tea & Cake
  • Service
  • Desserts
  • Palate cleansers
  • Breadboards
  • After-dinner drinks
  • Oysters
It may seem a crazy thing to do but I decided to tear out the cities I knew I wouldn’t be visiting this year – otherwise there’d be too much to focus on and I think I have ADD as it is!   And besides,  my home town, Cape Town, is a treasure trove for foodies: no less than eight of the ten best restaurants are located here 😉 .
 

 

3 thoughts on “A peek into the 2010 Eat Out Magazine (& a thumbs up for Cape Town)

  1. Thanks for inspiring me to wade through the book. It’s been sitting on my coffee table for a while now 🙂 Cape Town restaurants rock!

Comments are closed.