Vegetarian Cherry Tomato Quiche (or Tart)

  

Quiches are so convenient for brunches or lunches.  You can prepare them ahead of time and most people seem to enjoy them.  Here is the recipe for a cherry tomato quiche I baked a few weeks ago, since I’ve been ordered to whip one up for our family get-together tomorrow (‘You HAVE to make that tomato quiche again!’ said my sister Gablicious).  It’s in the oven as I write (oh, the smells coming from the kitchen at this late hour!). 

What’s great about quiches is that once you know how to make a pastry base and savoury custard, you can play with different fillings, experiment.  

For a large tart:  

  • Prepare a batch of short pastry – see https://whippingitup.wordpress.com/2010/02/19/how-to-make-short-pastry-for-quiches-etc/
  • Prepare your savoury custard (add salt to taste & remember to use less if you’re going to be adding other salty ingredients like feta or smoked salmon) – double the recipe at https://whippingitup.wordpress.com/2010/02/20/creme-royal-for-quiches/
  • Pre-heat your oven to 180 degrees celsius
  • Chop 3 onions, 2 cloves of garlic (or more), some chilli (enough to give it some zip, depending on your taste), 1 red pepper (if available), grate a block of cheddar cheese & break up a chunk of feta cheese
  • Grease your tart tin & roll out your pastry (this is the hardest part – sprinkle your work surface with flour as you go to prevent the pastry from sticking & be sure to work in a cool environment)
  • Line your tart tin (allow it to rest at room temperature for 20 minutes)

Remove air bubbles as you ease the pastry into the edges of the tart tin

  • Fill your tart

Sprinkle your dry ingredients onto the pastry

Pour in your savoury custard

Decorate with cherry tomatoes

  • Bake at 180 degrees celsius until the pastry is golden brown and the filling is cooked (the filling should be cooked by the time the pastry is golden but check by touching the top of the mix with your fingers or inserting a knife – bake for a little longer if there is still liquid in the mix)
  • Spray or dab the top with olive oil for shine

Serve with a crisp green salad and enjoy!

8 thoughts on “Vegetarian Cherry Tomato Quiche (or Tart)

  1. Remove the pastry from around the edges of the tin before baking for a clean looking tart (it also makes it easier to get the tart out of the tin).

  2. It looks rather yummy. I’m wondering what other vegetables I would put in a tart like this? The standards seem to be asparagus, mushroom and tomatoes. I think maybe baby marrows could work. ANd butternut. But why does nobody ever use broccoli or green beans or brussel sprouts in a tart?

    1. Okay, I’m up for the challenge! I’m gong to make a ‘Don’t Forget To Eat Your Greens Tart’! Mwah!

  3. Fantastic, DELICIOUS recipe and guide to making a quiche … just a couple of pointers:

    1. ONLY attempt this if you have TIME and no toddlers hanging around your ankles asking for attention.

    2. I would assume the pie tin (or whatever one calls it) is a crucial piece of equipment to use. I used my Le Creuset 32cm stoneware dish and the pastry at the bottom came out a little soggy (despite cooking it until the top was REALLY golden brown!)

    3. I altered the ingredients slightly (I used what was in my fridge), and I am very glad I decided to cook the mushrooms before layering in the quiche as it probably would have been even soggier!

    My husband LOVED it, and the girls at my Saturday brunch also LOVED it. I will DEFINITELY make it again (with the left over pastry that I have since frozen), and when I get myself a REAL quiche pie tin.

    Where do I get one of those Whipping It Up???

    xxxx

    1. Hi KS

      Thanks so much for your feedback!

      WELL, yes, it is a RULE to use metal tins as they transfer the heat much better than anything else. What a pity!!

      As for pre-cooking the mushrooms, it’s not necessary if you use a metal tin – well, I’ve never pre-cooked them.

      Pastry does take time, I agree… one has to do it for the love of it else rather just buy a ready-made quiche!

      Here are some tips on working with pastry:

      https://whippingitup.wordpress.com/2009/07/19/perfect-pastry-tips-the-gift-of-cold-hands/

      Lots of love!!!

      xxx

    2. Oh, you can get metal quiche/pie dishes from any catering shop like Banks in SA or Boardmans (where I’ve got most of mine – Made in France)…

      1. Fantastic … I’m right on it! xxx

        PS I forgot to mention that I added thyme (not TIME) to my pastry. Not sure how much of a difference it made – but it was delicious nonetheless. xxx

Leave a Reply

